Repentance

Repentance

Category:

Download cover in high resolution

Share

Repentance

Author: Eloísa Díaz

Set in Argentina and intertwining two timeframes, one during the last dictatorship in the early 80s, and the other amidst the 2001 revolts that eventually ousted the president, Repentance is a debut noir delving into the disappeared.

Inspector Alzada’s work in the Buenos Aires police force during the Dirty War exposes him to the many realities of life under a repressive military regime: desperate people, angry people – but, most of all, missing people. Personally, he prefers to stay out of politics, favouring a steady job and domesticity with his wife Paula over the path taken by his hot-headed revolutionary brother, Jorge. But when Jorge is disappeared, Alzada knows he will stop at nothing to recover him, in a race against the clock that will force him to choose between the pragmatism that has always safeguarded his survival and his newfound convictions.

In 2001, Alzada is still an inspector. He’s burnt out, frustrated that he hasn’t been able to affect real change, and convinced of the futility of yet another doomed Argentinean attempt at democracy. Alzada is determined to remain a detached bystander, to keep his head down in anticipation of a peaceful retirement with Paula and the nephew they’ve raised together.

However, all his plans are derailed as the revolts gain traction and a young woman’s dead body lands in the dumpster behind the morgue on the same day a woman from one of the city´s wealthiest families goes missing.

An unnerving debut novel for readers of Elizabeth Day, Petros Márkaris, and the most upmarket literary thrillers, as well as dark literary fiction.

Other books by the same author

Work

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Repentance”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On this page we use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services.
If you continue browsing, we will consider that you accept their use and our cookies policy More Info

ACEPTAR
Aviso de cookies