The Marriage Clock

The Marriage Clock

Category:

Download cover in high resolution

Share

The Marriage Clock

Author: Zara Raheem

On the night of her 26th birthday, Leila Abid’s traditional Indian parents surprise her with an unusual gift – their plans to arrange her marriage. Initially appalled by her parents’ outdated views on love, Leila caves in to their guilt-ridden tactics and accepts their outrageous offer. However, after a disastrous first date with her parents, four of their friends, and a potential groom – who is more interested in her family medical history than in courting her – she soon discovers that finding love the arranged way is a far greater sacrifice than she is willing to make.

After much cajoling, Leila convinces her parents to allot her three months to find a husband on her own terms. Tasked with the impossible mission of satisfying her parents’ expectations, but also fulfilling her own western ideals of love, Leila embarks on a series of awkward, yet hilarious dates with the most eligible bachelors in her South Asian-Muslim community; all the while staving off nosy rishta aunties, judgmental matchmakers, and a meddling mother in the hopes of finding her perfect Bollywood ending.

 

  • In the vein of The Big Sick, The Mindy Project and Master of None
  • A fun, fresh, smart debut by a promising young California-based author

Original language

ENGLISH (World) | William Morrow/Harper Collins

Other books by the same author

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Marriage Clock”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On this page we use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services.
If you continue browsing, we will consider that you accept their use and our cookies policy More Info

ACCEPT
Aviso de cookies