In The Palace of Flowers

In The Palace of Flowers

Download cover in high resolution

Share

In The Palace of Flowers

Author: Victoria Princewill

Set in Iran at the end of the 19th Century in the Persian royal court of the Qajars, In The Palace of Flowers is an atmospheric debut in the tradition of Kamila Shamsie, Laila Lalami, Jessie Burton and Elif Shafak.

Jamila, an African slave, stands at the funeral of a Persian nobleman, watching the rites with empty eyes. In that very particular moment, she realises that her life will never be acknowledged or mourned with the same significance. The fear of being forgotten, of being irrelevant, sets her and Abimelech, a fellow Abyssinian slave and a eunuch, on a path to find meaning, navigating the dangerous and deadly politics of the royal court, both in the government and the harem, before leading her to the radicals that lie beyond its walls.

Love, friendship and the bitter politics within the harem, the court and the Shah’s sons and advisors will define the fate of these two Abyssinian slaves.

Enchanting and page-turning, In The Palace of Flowers is a magnificent debut about the fear of being forgotten.

Original language

ENGLISH (World) | Cassava Republic

Translation rights

SERBIAN | Vulkan

Other books by the same author

On this page we use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services.
If you continue browsing, we will consider that you accept their use and our cookies policy More Info

ACCEPT
Aviso de cookies