Likeness

Likeness

Category:

Likeness

Author: Jill Foulston

What likeness is there between an image and its subject? In capturing one, do you risk losing the other?

Jan van Eyck’s enigmatic Arnolfini Portrait is a painting with a mystery at its heart, for the woman in the portrait has never been identified.

Set in fifteenth-century Bruges, Likeness tells the story of the troubled marriage between the patron of the painting, a rich Italian cloth merchant, and a woman who is herself a valuable commodity, passed from one wealthy family to another. Slowly, the thread that holds Giovanni and Costanza Arnolfini together begins to unravel, and in a surprising twist, we suddenly see what is really in the picture . . .

In the tradition of Jessie Burton, Tracy Chevalier and Michèle Desbordes, Likeness is a taut and skillful novel that draws us into a dazzling, unfamiliar world.

Other books by the same author

Work

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Likeness”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On this page we use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services.
If you continue browsing, we will consider that you accept their use and our cookies policy More Info

ACCEPT
Aviso de cookies